Amore!

Ricky Goose here, friends, to tell you about love.

I thought I had lost all my love when dear, sweet Lucy went to the big pond in the sky. I was a broken gander, lost and confused. And bored.

But, time heals all wounds, so they say, and life is looking up for me. My heart is filling with thoughts of a new love. She was there all along, but I was blind to her because of my happiness with Lucy. But I’ve been spending a lot of time with my new love lately, watching her interact with the chickens and turkeys. She’s such a gentle, loving soul. Her feathers are so unusual, but that only makes her more special. And she’s much too tall, but she always comes down to sit with me.

I keep wondering how to tell her that I love her. With Lucy, it was an easy thing. But my new love speaks a different language. I danced for her and rubbed my head against her back, but I don’t think she knows that means “I Love You.” But I must keep trying. Love is the most important thing!

For now, I leave you with the name of my love. The Librarian.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Amore!

  1. Jim says:

    Awww! Keep your eye out for that Percy, he fancies his chances as well.

  2. Chai Chai says:

    Do you have geese that mate for life? (Do all geese mate for life?) It is wonderful that he pays you so much attention, but so sad that he lost his mate.

    • As far as I know, all geese mate “for life.” But that term is a little misleading, at least I think so. They will usually find another mate after they loose one. And sometimes they form a 3-way bond (usually 2 females and 1 male, but sometimes 2 males and 1 female).

      I was very, very worried about him, but he’s doing remarkably well. He’s hanging out with the turkeys and keeping me busy. Hopefully, in the very near future, he will have some playmates, but for now I feel like he’s doing pretty well.

Leave a Reply

